Tell me about baby pictures…

I am doing a project for school that involves baby pictures, so I have been thinking a lot about them, the ones I’ve taken informally, the professional and semi-professional ones I have had taken, the ones I’ve seen on other blogs, on Pinterest, on Facebook.

First, let me say I love baby pictures.  They make me unbelievably happy.  But they are also a source of anxiety for me.  What clothes should the kids wear?  Will they look cute in the pictures?  Will they behave for the photographer?  How many prints should I order?  What do I do with all of these pictures?  You get the picture.

And now, we have Pinterest with so much family photography inspiration.  We have props and over-sized hats and flowers.  There are iPhones and Instagram and Facebook newsfeeds.  Baby pictures and kid pictures seem so complicated and yet so simple.  What does all this mean for us as mothers, keepers of childhood, preservers of those precious smiles and wispy hair and gumdrop eyes?

 

But maybe this simultaneous stress and pleasure is mine alone.  I am curious how other mothers feel.

Dear mommy readers, 

What do baby pictures mean to you?  Do you have a favorite?  What is the picture-taking/memory-capturing process like for you?  Do you have a schedule?  Do you have albums full?  Do you wish you had more?

I would love to get your feedback and insights.  I would be really appreciative if you could leave me a comment with your thoughts about baby pictures.

I also would like to put together a collection of baby pictures to try to capture certain trends and themes.  If you are interested in emailing me some of your pictures, that would be great, too.

Thank you!

 

3 thoughts on “Tell me about baby pictures…

  1. I take tons of pictures of my babies everyday with my iPhone. They do so many cute picture worthy things, I can’t help myself! I like to use instagram too! My husband is a great photographer and when we get a chance I have him photograph my babies. We have no schedule ( I wish I were that organized), it just happens when the opportunity arises.

  2. When my oldest was a baby I took pictures all the time, and I had his picture taken professionally several times. As they got bigger and I had more kids I didn’t do the pro sittings as often, but I still take a ton of pictures. Typically I play with them and print my favorites as 5x7s or 8×10’s. Most of my favorites turned out to be the unplanned ones. I once did a shadow box of all my kids right at a year old, it was amazing the similarities in them. I’d love to share a few of my favorites with you…

  3. My baby is only ten months but the system I’ve created is to take candid pictures often then compile them all onto a shutterfly share site. Other people can upload pictures of him to this site too (though they usually send them to me and I do it). Then I’ve designed a shutterfly book with my favorites every three months. He has a 0-3, 3-6 and 6-9 book so far. I’m trying to decide if we’ll stick to every 3 months once he hits a year or do every 4 or 6 months. As long as the shutterfly coupons keep coming, we may stick to 3 months for a while. My hope is to eventually let him start helping design his books.

    We’ve never done any professional pictures but we do have friends who are professional photographers and are getting ready to do some pumpkin patch pictures with one of them.

    (If you want the link to our shutterfly site, just let me know!)

Leave a Reply

