A Thank You Note

Dear Mrs. C.,

You should know I’m still a teacher, Mrs. C.  I think you had something to do with that.  You should know I’m generous with my students.  I expect a lot, but I listen to them.  I care about them.  You should know you modeled that for me.  Among other things.  Like patience.  Like passion.

I remember how we used to eat lunch together, you at your desk, me at the one next to yours up in front of the rows of desks.  I was freezing, and you were always hot.  I wore long underwear every day under my clothes, and you kept the room set at 60.  But now, when I look back on the months we spent together in your classroom, I don’t remember the cold.  So many of my memories of living in Northern PA are steeped in a chill that made me long to live somewhere warmer, but not from 7 until 3 when you were my mentor and I was your student teacher.  I had soup every day that fall.  I can barely eat cans of chicken and wild rice, creamy tomato now, maybe one every six months or so.  I don’t miss Progresso in my life.  I do miss you.

Thank you for teaching me how to be a teacher, what it means to be a teacher, a good teacher, a great teacher.  I want to be great in the classroom.  I’m working on it.  Every class.  Each lesson plan.  I’ll keep at it.  For you.  For my students.  For my future students.

I hope you know how much you meant to me.  I was a newlywed, a recent college grad, and six hours away from my family.  I needed a strong, kind woman in my life.  And you were so much more.

Cheers,

Lindsey

Leave a Reply

