Introducing Veggie Night

It is only Tuesday, but I am already looking forward to Friday night.  Yes, it’s the end of the work week, but that’s not why.  Sure, I don’t have to go into campus, but that’s not why either.

Friday night = Veggie night

Now that we are starting to get back into the swing of things with a new semester and school year underway, Shawn and I have started a new weekday tradition.  Monday through Thursday are really busy for us.  I don’t get done from work until after four.  Shawn has Riley after school.  Our evenings are packed with gymnastics, readings, playtime, and getting ready for the next day.  That means we need to streamline dinners during the week.  Here’s our revamped work-week lineup:

Monday: Moe’s Monday

Tuesday: Pasta

Wednesday: Pancakes

Thursday: Meat and Two Sides  or a One Pot Meal (This week, we will be having kielbasa, potatoes, and corn on the cob)

Friday: Veggie Night.

Not gonna lie, I am really, really, really excited about veggie night.  Since I’m home, I have a little more time to cook and prep a dish or two.  And veggie night means I get a whole meal to make with just vegetables and the goal of using up whatever veggies we have left before we pick up our new basket Saturday morning.  Me + kitchen + challenge = Love.

Here’s a recap from the past two Fridays.  So far, I am off to a good start.  Even Shawn is enjoying the meals even if they don’t quite fill him up.

Two weeks ago: I made my first savory cobbler.  So good.  I started with this recipe from Martha Stewart for tomato cobbler.  I made a few changes:

  • Instead of onions, I sauteed three yellow squash in some garlic and olive oil.
  • Then I added the cut-up tomatoes to the pan to saute a bit, too, and get rid of some of the water content.
  • For the biscuit topping, I used my homemade biscuit mix with some milk and a little butter. On top, I sprinkled a handful of shredded cheddar.

Tomato Cobbler – photo from marthastewart.com

(PS For dessert, I made another batch of banana bread cobbler.  Double cobbler night.  Please, please.)

Last Week: I made a galette for the first time.  Again, we had a bunch of tomatoes left over, and I was in the mood for something tart-ish.  I made a few changes to this recipe for the galette, as well:

  • I substituted breadcrumbs for the corn meal in the dough.  And I only let it sit in the frig for about fifteen minutes while I prepared the filling.
  • Reduced the amounts of butter and olive oil in both the dough and the filling.
  • No onion in the filling (we didn’t have any), so I just sauteed a full can of corn.  Then added tomatoes to the pan to cook for a little while.
  • I just brushed a little milk on the dough right before putting it in the oven.
  • For the cheese, I just sprinkled a little shredded cheddar on top.  We are pretty simple cheese folk, here.

Tomato, Corn, and Cheese Galette – photo from alexandracooks.com

 

This week, we’ve got a potluck to go to on Friday.  No veggie night?  No way!  We’ll just bump it back a day.

One thought on “Introducing Veggie Night

Leave a Reply

