Sweet Potato Heaven

The best come to those who wait, right?

This afternoon, I started making my lunch at 12:30.  A simple and delicious and satisfying new sweet potato dish my twin sister told me about and I am now obsessed with.  Including the five minutes it takes to bake the tater in the microwave, the dish takes six minutes to prepare.

Here’s the recipe:

A sweet potato (or just a half)

Peanut butter

Soy sauce

Garlic salt

Cilantro

Bake sweet potato for five minutes wrapped in plastic wrap in the microwave.  Mash it a little when it comes out.  Slather on peanut butter while it is still hot.  Shake on some soy sauce to taste.  Sprinkle garlic salt and cilantro to taste.  Bam!  Instant and delicious peanut sauce!  Now this may sound a little weird, but really the flavors are amazing together, specially if you love peanut butter and sweet potatoes as much as I do!

Before you add the soy sauce and seasonings, it looks a lot like this picture from Biochemista.com:

The rest of the ingredients really enhance the flavors and bring out the savory, salty goodness.  Plus, I am starting to think that everything is better with cilantro on it.

That’s it.  Super simple.

But this afternoon, I heated up my potato SIX times, and in between I did the following:

1.  Swept the kids’ bedroom floor.

2.  Held a crying and tired baby.

3.  Cuddled and played little piggies (you know, the toes’ game) with an adorable toddler.

4.  Nursed a really tired baby.

5.  Made two and a half cheese sandwiches for hungry children.

6.  Prepared a bowl of cereal for a hungry child.

7.  Got drinks for two thirsty children.

8.  Helped a preschooler sign on to my computer to play some educational games.

9.  Set out rolls to defrost and rise for dinner tonight.

But, now the tired baby is happily sleeping.  The other children are fed and watered.  My belly is full of peanut buttery goodness.

Two hours pass so quickly these days.  And I know at some point I will be able to prepare much more complex meals with all the time in the world in a quiet kitchen and miss an afternoon like this one.

Leave a Reply

