Summer @Home: Week 3

I am definitely in full-out summer mode…not really sure what day of the week it ever is, what day of the month…wearing no to minimal make-up…living in a t-shirt and short shorts around the house…sweating….eating lots of ice cream…

I love this time of the year.  Even the sweating.  Especially the ice cream!

This week was another fun one: some new fun findings, cute Riley sayings, athletic feats and woes, culinary adventures, and more.

Meals

So I already posted about our meals through Wednesday.  Here’s the rest of the week:

Thursday: mac and cheese, baked beans, and hot dogs (yes, all mixed together)

Friday: pizza slices at TransMet.  I had gone to the one downtown last August, and we all had a great time and a great meal at the one right down the road from our house tonight.  The kids scarfed three slices of cheese, Shawn had two BBQ slices, and I had a veggie pesto slice (plus the kids’ crusts).  Sidney slept.  I’m already looking forward to our next visit.

Saturday: Veggie bake and leftovers.

(I adapted this from an idea I saw on Pinterest…zucchini, squash, and tomato layered on top of some cooked onion and garlic powder…sprinkled with some olive oil and breadcrumbs…will add a little cheese half-way through cooking for an hour on 350.  Can’t wait!)

Outings

Girls’ Breakfast @ Panera on Wednesday

Movie morning (1 dollar tickets) on Tuesday

The YMCA most days for 1-4 hours (swimming, basketball, Kid-Watch, running, playground, and hockey).  Unfortunately, I am sort of falling apart.  Between my feet, ankles, and knees, I am all sorts of sore.

DQ Happy Hour!

Castle Park

Botanical Gardens.  We had a blast…checking out some flowers, taking a hike on the purple/orange trail, swimming in mud (Riley, that is, after trying to climb up on a sideways tree after her father), climbing trees, telling another He-Man/She-Ra story, wiping mud on each other (well, Riley tried to get me muddy), and cooling off in some water (well, I dumped two water bottles of water on Riley after she got mud on me).  Once it cools down a bit, we will definitely head back.  The area was beautiful, and we’ve got a nature scavenger hunt I found on Pinterest to finish.

Highlight of the Week

Lunch with CAROLINE outside Atlanta!!  Hands down.  Riley, Sidney, and I met Caroline on her way home from TN.  So, so cool!  We ate at Panera, did a little shopping, talked in person…it was awesome!

New and Refined Feats

Sidney has mastered the army crawl

Riley ran/walked 3/4 of a mile.  The goal is a mile.  If she does, she gets another monster cookie from Publix.  The things this girl will do for a monster cookie!  She’s pretty quick, too.

(Monster cookies look something like this!)

I can code Objects and Methods.

Sidney is starting to consistently sleep through the night!  Woot.  But of course, she’ll be up a lot tonight because I typed this.

Discoveries

I think Panera coffee makes me sick…I had it twice this week, and afterwards, my head was seriously spinning for a bunch of hours.  This makes me unbelievably sad.

My phone or battery is dying.  Boo!  I just ordered a new battery…we’ll see if that works.

Adrian loves to pull Shawn’s body hair (especially leg and chest hair).

Riley’s Favorites and Least Favorites

(Can you guess which are which?)

He-Man and She-Ra stories.

Underwear.

Sleeping on the couch.

Computer games.

Brushing her hair.

Sweet potato bread.

Sayings

Riley: Aunt Caroline is poisoning us?

Me: She is?  How?

Riley: With this lip gloss.  And our new clothes.

Me: Do you mean spoiling?

Riley: Yeah.  Poisoning.

Adrian’s Breakfast One Morning

Two frozen pancakes (one toasted, one frozen).

Half of a bagel thin.

Nutri-grain bar.

Milk.

Fun @ Home

Water balloon fight!

Cardboard box house-building.

Puzzles, coloring, and reading.

Baking.  Four loaves of sweet potato bread!

Playroom obstacle courses.

One thought on “Summer @Home: Week 3

Leave a Reply

