Back to the Budget: A Grocery Report

First a digression…

60 dollars a week apparently means I am starving my husband!  He said he has lost fifteen pounds this past year, and we think that his weight loss is due to his higher intake of vegetables, increased yard workload, and our tight grocery budget.  It’s hard to get a lot of meat for 60 dollars a week.  And when we do, it is usually something that is 2 dollars or less per pound (like chicken).

Fortunately, Paul treated him to a steak for lunch one day while we were in PA, and I treated him to a Brazilian steakhouse for an early Father’s Day treat.  He should have his fill of meat, especially red meat, for a while.

Back to our week’s grocery report:

Since we returned home last night to an empty refrigerator and two of the kids woke up early, I decided to hit Kroger’s right away.  My plan was to hit Kroger’s and Publix, but I ended up spending almost 60 dollars at Kroger’s, so I called it a week, and we headed home.

Here’s what I got:

10 boxes of cereal (yes, TEN), 2 boxes of Cheez-its, 1 container of Keebler cookies, 2 huge tubs of cookie dough, 2 boxes of instant coffee, a box of fruity tea (I have been craving tea recently!), bread, eggs, a container of Greek yogurt, 2 packs of American cheese, a bag of pretzels, 2 cups for the kids, a pack of steel wool cleaning pads, 2 rolls of kitchen garbage bags, bananas, 2 cans of baked beans, and milk.

Kroger’s had a save 5 dollars on 5 items deal that I used 3 times.  I also had 7.25 dollars in coupons (most for the cereal).

Total Spent: 57.50

I barely filled our frig, but we were getting desperate for cereal, and I couldn’t pass up some of the snack and dessert deals.  Next week, the goal will be to get more dinner foods, especially to complement our bountiful basket, which we are going to start ordering again.

Here’s what I am thinking for meals:

Sunday: Eggs, rice, and cheese

Monday: Welcome to Moes!

Tuesday: Mac and cheese and baked beans

Wednesday: Chili from the freezer

Thursday: Pasta night

Friday: Grilled cheese and canned vegetables

Saturday: Barbecue chicken (from the freezer) and some fresh veggies from our basket!

 

Leave a Reply

