My Extended Village

The month of May has been a friends and family fest.  First, I spent two weeks in Virginia with my parents and sisters.  Then Shawn and I took the gang to PA for a tour of friend visits.  We caught up with the Fords, Omans, Harmons, Sukowskis, and Pinchots.  We spent over thirty hours in the car in the course of our travels, telling stories, sleeping, and reading.  But I also had plenty of time to reflect on how fortunate I am to have such a close and wonderful family and good, good friends.  Though our visits were too quick, our time together always, always too short, it was enough to remind me how fortunate I am to have such a strong and extended village of people who care about me, Shawn, and our kids.  It was enough to fill me with generosity, kindness, and thoughtfulness.  When we returned home last week, I felt overwhelmingly grateful for three weeks worth of wonderful moments.  And I wanted to take a moment to say thank you.

Thank you for…

spoiling my children with hugs, clothes, books, cars, and art projects.

Primanti Bros.

egg-cellent breakfasts.

sweet and spicy peppers.

intro to Game of Thrones and iPad envy.

cookouts and coffee.

muffins and confetti cake.

beaver dam walks and front yard swimming.

many, many Settlers of Catan matches.

Amish bread and master bedroom displacement.

back yard barbecues and patio parties.

diaper changes.

chalk and bubbles.

an Elmo birthday party.

children’s museum and playground trips.

Girl’s Weekend.

little people and train sets.

mini bottles of Moscado.

big bottles of red.

catch-up conversations.

laughter.  Lots of laughter.

We love you.  Thank you for loving us and being part of our lives.

Leave a Reply

