My New Favorite Way To Cook Cauliflower

 A Selfish Side Dish

Usually it is bad when I am the only one in the family who likes something I make.  I mean, really, what is the point of cooking something for me and then cooking something for the rest of the gang?

But I will make an exception for this cauliflower!

My parents have been raving about curried cauliflower, and we finally got a head in our basket this weekend.  So of course, Saturday night, I had to give it a shot:

Curried Cauliflower: A Rough Recipe

1.  In a bowl, I mixed yellow curry powder, garlic salt, some chili powder, cilantro, and Miracle Whip.  I wanted to use my light Mayo, but if Shawn was to have any hope of liking it, I had to stick with MW.  I didn’t really measure anything…but I used a lot more curry powder than any other spice.  The end result was a paste.

2.  Then, I spread this paste all over the head of cauliflower.

3.  I popped it in the microwave for ten minutes with a loose lid and went back to preparing the rest of our dinner (Who am I kidding?  We had a Stouffer’s frozen entree.  I guess I set the table.)

Ten minutes later, I had a steaming hot, moist, curry-flavored cauliflower.  It was so, so good!  I certainly could have had the whole head, but Shawn tried it (didn’t like it), and I ended up saving some for lunch on Sunday.

Reflections and Possible Variations

Next time I get a cauliflower, I know what I am doing with it.  So easy.  So quick.  So good.

I’m also wondering about variations.  Maybe I’ll try a Miracle Whip, cheddar cheese, onion and garlic powder, and chive paste…sort of a mashed potato mix.  Or, maybe I could do an Italian version: Alfredo cheese sauce, parm cheese, basil, oregano, etc.  Could be tasty.

And maybe this apply-paste-to-whole-vegetable-and-pop-in-the-microwave thing could be used for other vegetables.  I am thinking onion?

P.S.  The dish came together so quickly, and I ate it so fast, I didn’t even have a chance to take a picture!  But it looked a lot like this one from kitchendaily.com.

Leave a Reply

