Grocery Budget Busted!

This week, we definitely didn’t stay in our budget.  Actually, we just about doubled it!  I haven’t spent so much on groceries in a long time.  Our kitchen cupboards and refrigerator and freezer have never been so full, but I know the food will go fast.  I stocked up on some essentials, but I also had to get food for Riley’s birthday party, Easter dinner, Easter school parties, and some food for my family when they come to visit this weekend (YAY!!).  Plus, Publix had some really great BOGO deals that haven’t come up for a while.  And we got a basket this week.  All together, that’s a definite recipe for budget breaker!

So here’s the breakdown:

We hit Kroger’s Monday night.  Spent = 61.63.  

For Easter dinner and family meals, we picked up a 9lb ham, turkey bacon, tortilla shells, shredded cheese, English muffins, and frozen potatoes.

 

For Riley’s party, we picked up more chocolate chip cookies (for the cookie cake) and juice boxes.

For our weekly staples, we got cereal (3 boxes), fruit snacks, bread, sausages, milk, and Greek yogurt (I feel like I need a container in the house at all times…never know when I need some cake!).

Last night, the big kids hit Publix with me.  Spent = 36.82.

For the kids’ Easter parties at school, we got mini-cupcakes for Riley and animal crackers for Adrian.

For Riley’s party, we bought Starburst jelly beans and frosting.

For our weekly staples and stock-ups: frozen raviolis, light hot dogs, turkey kielbasa, Pam spray, spaghetti, four containers of Ragu sauce, two more boxes of cereal, and two boxes of cake mix (now that I have Green yogurt, I must have cake mix around!).

In our Bountiful Basket this week ($15), we had a really cool mix of foods: oranges, apples, kiwis, lemons, radishes, asparagus, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, pineapple, an onion, green beans, and cucumbers.  (We are going to be making one amazing salad for our Easter dinner.)

Unfortunately, no coupons this week.  I blame the end of the semester stress and lack of time.

All together, that’s a grand total of 113.45.

Here’s a look at our meals for the week:

Monday: Moe’s Monday

Tuesday: Breakfast – pancakes, eggs, and sausage

Wednesday: Chili-stuffed green peppers with rice; hot dogs and beans for the kids; carrots on the side.

Thursday: Pasta night!  With some asparagus for me, too!

Friday: Probably something from our freezer.  I will be busy cleaning for the family’s visit and finishing up prep for Riley’s party.

Saturday: Ham, potatoes, salad, and veggies

Sunday: LEFT-OVERS!

I should say, too, that we still have to hit one to two more stores to finish getting food and supplies for Riley’s party.  It is amazing how fast the food and supply purchases add up, even when you shop at Dollar Tree.  But I will save the complete breakdown of Riley’s party for a post-party post.

On the plus side, it is nice having more options for the kids’ dinners with hot dogs, raviolis, and a wider selection of fruits and veggies.  I am hoping we don’t have to do major shopping next week…maybe just pick up milk, eggs, and bread.  We’ll see.  I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

