Please tell me this is a phase…

Riley is obsessed with three phrases right now, all in a similar theme:

Poop

Butt butt

Bootie butt

And she will use them in creative ways, too.

1.  I was singing the ABC’s in the car the other day.  Riley starts to sing along…

“A, B, C, D, E, F, POOP…next time won’t you POOP.”

2.  This is the version of Little Bunny Foo-Foo that she sang on our walk yesterday:

“Little bunny BUTT BUTT hopping through the forest, scooping up the field mice and bopping them on their BUTTs….I’ll give you three chances and then I’m going to turn you into a BUTT.”

3.  Or sometimes, she just likes to go around the house with her rear end cocked out, saying:

“Do you like my BOOTIE BUTT?  I like my BOOTIE BUTT!”

Please explain to me how this happens!  And why?  It’s not like Shawn and I go around saying things like this.  Sure, we change songs and make them personal, but in cute and endearing ways that usually just involve our kids’ names or introducing animals to the bus (for “The Wheels on the Bus”).

So far, this has been going on for two weeks.  She doesn’t talk like this when we are all out in public, and she assures me she doesn’t talk like this at school (but I may need to check with her teachers).  And sometimes, it is so freakin’ funny!  The ways she thinks to bring POOP or BUTT into a conversation can be pretty creative.  We’ve been trying to ignore it, but it is persisting.  We’ve also let her know we don’t like when she talks like that.  I don’t really think this is time-out worthy.  She isn’t gross or mean about it.  She cracks herself up about it.

So that’s what’s going on in our house these days!

Do we just wait this out?  Keep trying to ignore these phrases?  Any other ideas?

2 thoughts on “Please tell me this is a phase…

  1. You’ve got to make it seem like ears are the real Taboo… She’s not gonna give up on the booty unless she has something crazier to replace it with! Now that I took on what I call “parenting round 2” I’ve come to accept that kids love big butts and they cannot lie… With a crazy mix of teens and preschoolers, what I get are 3-year-olds who run around in pull-ups at bed-time singing “I’m sexy and I know it”… meanwhile I just sigh, and say “yep, those Pull-ups are definitely top of the Sexy list!”

Leave a Reply

