Don’t Listen to Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines…

I’ve been making cake mix cakes ever since I was a kid (right, mom?).  They are easy and versatile.  I’ve had them as dinosaurs, as tigers, in trifles, in dump cakes, as cookies.  But I’ve always followed the directions and mixed them with water, oil, and eggs.

Until Thursday.

And now I don’t think I’ll go back.

On Pinterest, I found this pin one day…

So last weekend, I bought a cup of Greek yogurt (It was on sale.).

Thursday, I was craving something sweet and we just so happened to have a confetti cake mix in our cupboard.

The recipe is simple: One confetti cake mix, one cup water, and one cup of Greek yogurt (I used vanilla bean, honey).

WOW.  That’ all I’m going to say.  I’ve haven’t been able to stop raving about the results.  Usually, I need (a lot of) frosting in order to eat cake. Ask my twin sister.  We used to frequent Barnard’s dining hall in college just for their desserts.  We’re talking monstrous triple layer cakes, which of course we scraped the frosting off to eat by the spoonful.  In my opinion (until Thursday that is), the best kind of cake was the kind with the best (and most) frosting.

But WOW.  The Greek yogurt made the cake so moist and a little denser than normal cake.  Almost a brownie consistency.  And because it is healthier than the eggs and oil kind of cake, you feel GOOD eating it.  Ours was gone by the next night!

Delicious Cake + Good Feeling While Eating = No Need for Frosting + Happiness

Hungry Girl also features different substitutions to try, but I might have to stick with Greek yogurt for a while.  Seriously, so good!  Plus, Publix has BOGO cake mixes this week.  I plan on stocking up!

Leave a Reply

