CBPP

These four initials now define a way I have been looking at the world.  We recently read an essay by Yochai Benkler called “Coase’s Penguin, or Linux and the Nature of the Firm.”  Incredibly dense stuff, but fascinating.  In the essay, Benkler discusses CBPP, or commons-based peer production.  He uses this expression to define projects like Linux, Wikipedia, and a Nasa one that involved copious clicking.

On Saturday morning, my mom and I went to pick up our Bountiful Basket, and amid the 96 people/groups gathered to pick up our 15 dollar feasts of produce, I realized that our co-op functioned like a practical and very loosely related application of CBPP.  Those of us who had purchased baskets worked with a group of volunteers the morning of to create a way to access produce that was more cost-efficient than what we could buy in grocery stores.  How cool was it to see a community of people committed to healthy, cost-effective eating convene!  Standing in line, my mom and I chatted with a couple of other basket-buyers, relatively newbs to the Athens enterprise.  I talked about how different the experience was in September when just 13-20 of us purchased baskets.  Now, the co-op has really taken off, and we have sold out for the past couple weeks.  I am enthused to be a part of our Bountiful Basket group (I talk about it all the time…and now my sister has started participating in a similar program in VA and my parents are going to start in May!), and I love being a part of such an efficient, effective community endeavor.  I’ve eaten more fruits and veggies in the past six months than I have in years while saving money.

You can read Benkler’s article here.

You can check out Bountiful Baskets here.

Happy reading and co-oping!

Oh, and check out what we got in our basket this week!  Good stuff.  We’ve already enjoyed salad, cinnamon-grilled pineapple, and cut-up strawberries.  

Leave a Reply

