Why My Children Will Be Gamers

I have grown up in a family of game-players.  My husband and I are big gamers.  For the most part, though, I’ve viewed my fondness for gaming as a guilty pleasure, time spent away from more important things.  I cannot even begin to tell you how many hours I spent playing Tetris in college.  Or Settlers of Catan last semester and over the holidays.  Or City of Heroes and WOW before the kids were born.  But now, I’m starting to rethink all that.  Thanks, Cathy Davidson!

I’ve been reading her book for class, Now You See It.  Not only does she make me feel better about all the games I play/have played, but she encourages me to consider games as a critical part of my kids’ education.  In a chapter called “The Epic Win,” she focuses on the importance of games to learning.  She relates the five characteristics of the “gamer disposition”:

Gamers:

1.  are bottom-line oriented

2.  understand the power of diversity

3.  thrive on change

4.  see learning as fun

5.  marinate on the edge (Davidson 158)

Yes, please sign my kids up for these qualities!

 

4 thoughts on “Why My Children Will Be Gamers

  1. Though I don’t disagree with your post (being a gamer myself, and knowing what good can come from video games) one thing that has to be remembered is that people are wired differently, and the outcome of choices like this aren’t always the same.

    • I think a lot of good can come from playing games, especially in light of Cathy Davidson’s book. But I agree with you about people being wired differently. Not every is going to benefit from gaming. And it might also be a question of what games are being played…

  2. This is brilliant! This book showcases the benefits of gaming rather than the stereotypical view by the media that gaming is wrong. Hopefully this book will shed light on how awesome gaming can be at developing you as a person!

    • Absolutely, there are games that definitely bring good results to people in terms of growth. The stereotypical view of games being mindless shooters (like COD) which bring no inherent value to people or society is, frankly, offensive and for the most part down-right false (unless people like David Jaffe get their way).

      However, like people, each game is different, and each game brings something different to the table, be it mindless fun brought by Call of Duty or mental training of puzzle games such a the Professor Layton series of Tetris or in-depth character-driven narrative from games like Uncharted and Heavy Rain. I haven’t read this book, and this post most definitely makes me want to check it out, the only thing is that though games can have their benefits, they can also have their drawbacks, and depending on the person or game played those benefits and drawbacks will reveal themselves respectively.

      As for me, when I have kids, I fully intend to try and give them a rounded experience between video games, books, comics, movies, etc. and help them grow based on what speaks to them as individuals.

Leave a Reply

